Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Psychologist Licensure by Endorsement: 10 Years of Experience.
This method of licensure requires the applicant possess a doctoral degree in psychology and have at least 10 years of experience as a licensed psychologist in any jurisdiction or territory of the United States within the 25 years preceding the date of application.
Effective July 1, 2022, a doctoral degree in psychology means a Psy.D., Ed.D. in psychology, or a Ph.D. in psychology from a psychology program at an educational institution that, at the time the applicant was enrolled and graduated, had institutional accreditation from an agency recognized and approved by the United States Department of Education, or, was recognized as a member in good standing with the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada.
Florida Laws and Rules
Applicants with Health History
If a “Yes” response was provided to any of the questions in this section, provide the following documents directly to the board office:
A letter from a Licensed Health Care Practitioner, who is qualified by skill and training to address the condition identified, which explains the impact the condition may have on the ability to practice the profession with reasonable skill and safety. The letter must specify that the applicant is safe to practice the profession without restrictions or specifically indicate the restrictions that are necessary. Documentation provided must be dated within one year of the application date.
A written self-explanation, identifying the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s); and current status.
Applicants with Discipline History
Disciplinary History documentation must include: Board orders, disciplinary reports, court documents, arrest records, sentencing information, final disposition(s), restitution records, completion of probation, employment records and/or employment verifications, employer and/or colleague recommendation letters, etc.
Applicants with Criminal History
Criminal History documentation must include for each offense: court and arrest records, sentencing information, final disposition(s), restitution records, proof of completion of probation and all other sanctions. If the records are no longer available, must have certification of their unavailability from the applicable clerk of courts office.
Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration
Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
- Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
- Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
- Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.
Official Transcripts: Please note that official doctoral level transcripts may be submitted to the Board in password-protected electronic formats via e-mail to email@example.com. Transcripts must be received from one of the following entities: the degree granting institution, National Student Clearinghouse, Association of State & Provincial Psychology Board’s Mobility Program, or, the National Register of Health Service Psychologists.
How to Apply for Licensure
Submit a completed application, fees and all required supporting documents to:
For Applications and Fees (Regular Mail)
Department of Health
Board of Psychology
P.O. Box 6330
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6330
Without Fees (Regular Mail)
Department of Health
Board of Psychology
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-05
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255
The application package contains additional information regarding the application, the fees, other required documentation, and special testing accommodations due to ADA or religious conflict issues and examination information.
Section 120.60, Florida Statutes, states an agency is allowed 30 days from receipt of the application and fee to review an application and notify the applicant in writing of any deficiencies. If notification of application status has not been received within 40 days of the Department’s receipt of the application, you may contact the board’s administrative office. It is recommended that all applicants submit applications and documentation as far in advance of deadlines as possible. Every application for a license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of a completed application. To ensure that your application is reviewed at the next available board meeting, it must be complete 30 days prior to that board meeting.
Make cashier’s check or money order payable to the DOH/Board of Psychology
|Application Fee||$200.00 (non-refundable)|
|Initial Licensure Fee||$100.00|
|Unlicensed Activity Fee||$5.00|
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Chapter 490: Psychology
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act
Florida Administrative Codes
Rules: Chapter 64B19, Florida Administrative Code