2020 Legislative Update

Posted in Latest News on July 2, 2020.

Bills Impacting Psychology:

HB 713: Department of Health, Effective 7/1/20
http://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2020/713/BillText/er/PDF

Changes to section 490.003, Florida Statutes (F.S.):

  • A reference to obsolete psychologist educational requirements in effect prior to July 1, 1999 was removed; and
  • A specific reference to the American Psychological Association (APA) was added. The specific reference to the APA simply clarified current education requirements, it did not impose a new requirement.

Changes to section 490.005, F.S.:

  • A reference to Canada was eliminated. Removal of the Canadian reference will allow applicants who obtained their education in Canada to demonstrate they have an education comparable to an APA program. This change was required because the APA no longer accredits Canadian doctoral programs;
  • Outdated language was removed that referenced an augmented or comparable doctoral education. The ability of applicants who obtained their degree in the United States to augment an insufficient degree or show comparability to an APA accredited program has not been available since 1999 and 2001 respectively; and
  • An outdated reference to the school psychology educational accrediting agency, Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation was updated with the successor agency, Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

Changes to section 490.006, F.S.:

  • The licensure method of endorsement of other state license was eliminated; and
  • The application method endorsement of 20 years licensed psychology experience was changed to require only 10 years of licensed experience.

HB 115: Keep Our Graduates Working Act, Effective 7/1/20
http://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2020/115/BillText/er/PDF

  • The bill prohibits the Department of Health (DOH) from denying the issuance of, refusing to renew, suspending, or revoking a professional license based solely on the licensee being delinquent on a payment of or defaulting on his or her student loans. The bill removes the specific provision allowing DOH to discipline a health care practitioner for failing to repay a student loan and the associated mandatory discipline. The bill repeals the requirement that DOH must issue an emergency order suspending a health care practitioner’s license for a student loan default, absent timely proof of a new repayment plan. Additionally, the bill repeals the requirement that DOH must obtain a monthly list from the United States Health and Human Services (USHHS) of the health care practitioners who have defaulted on their student loans.


More Latest News

2020 Legislative Update
July 2, 2020

Click here to view a full list of bill summaries from the 2020 Florida Legislative Session that may impact your profession. Continue reading


COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Impacting Testing Required for Licensure
March 19, 2020

As concerns related to the COVID-19 (coronavirus) continue, testing vendors are temporarily suspending operations to ensure the safety of testing candidates. Continue reading