Examination FAQs


Examination FAQs

Expand allClose all

The testing vendor will not allow me to sit for the exam because the name they have for me does not match the one on my ID. What can I do about this?

Submit a written request to the board office to have your name changed, along with a copy of your driver’s license or other official documentation showing your correct name. Staff will make the needed changes and provide the corrected information to the testing vendor.

I have already been authorized to sit for the exam(s), but when I tried to schedule, the testing vendor would not let me. They said I’m not on the list. What happened and what can I do?

Depending on when you were authorized to sit, your authorization may have expired. Your authorization will have to be resubmitted. Please notify psychology board staff and request your authorization be resubmitted.

Am I allowed to review my Florida laws and rules exam to see which Questions I got wrong?

The fee for post-examination review is $75.00. For a post-examination review, you must contact Prometric and schedule the review within 21 days of the date of your official score report.  To schedule, contact Prometric by web, phone or fax, the same as you scheduled your examination.

Where is the Florida laws and rules exam administered?

Please visit Pearson VUE’s website at http://www.pearsonvue.com/fl/doh/ and use “Find a Test Center” map feature to identify the testing site(s) nearest you.

How many times per year are the exams administered?

The exams are administered on a continual basis. You may select the date that is convenient for you.

I’ve already sat for the national (or state) exam. How do I get authorized for the other exam?

If you are required to sit for both exams you will be authorized for both at the same time.

Is there a study packet for the exams?

When you are authorized for the exam(s), you will be automatically sent a study packet for the Florida laws and rules exam. The study packet may also be viewed online. National (EPPP) exam information is available at www.asppb.org

What kinds of Questions will the exam(s) consist of?

Please see Chapter 64B19-11.001, F.A.C., for the subject matter contained on the Florida laws and rules exam. National (EPPP) exam information is available at www.asppb.org

Do I have to pay again if I fail an exam? If so, how much is it?

For the Florida laws and rules exam, the cost is $85, which is paid to the Board, as well as a $53 computer-based testing fee which is paid to the testing vendor, Prometric. For the national exam, the cost is $600, payable to PES, and a computer-based testing fee which is paid to Prometric.

I have received the results of my exam and I failed. What do I do now?

Once we receive your official score report, we will send you a re-exam application with instructions.

Is it okay if I take the national (EPPP) first, or do I have to take the Florida laws and rules exam first?

The order in which you take your exams in is entirely at your discretion.

How long do I have to take the exams?

Once your application file is complete and you have been approved by the Board, you have 24 months from the date of your Board approval letter to complete all requirements for licensure, including the exam(s).

What is the deadline for scheduling my exams?

The Board does not have a set timeframe between when an applicant is authorized for exams and when they must schedule (i.e., you must schedule within sixty days of being authorized.) You may contact Prometric and PES to inquire as to whether they have scheduling deadlines.

When can I schedule the required exams?

You may schedule the exams after your application is administratively complete and it has been determined that you meet the requirements for licensure. Some applications require individual review by the Board. If this is the case this review must take place before you may schedule the exams.

Prometric says that I need an Eligibility ID to schedule my exam. What is this? Is it my Applicant ID number?

Your Eligibility ID number is your social security number without any dashes or spaces.

May I apply for examination prior to completion of my post-doctoral supervised experience?

Yes. This method of application is called the bifurcation method. It allows an individual who complies with Florida’s education requirements to apply for examination prior to completing the experience requirement.

What is Florida’s passing score on the national exam?

70% on the examination prior to October 2000. For October 2000 and exams thereafter, the ASPPB recommends the cut-off score. The current ASPPB recommended cut-off score is a scaled score of 500.

I am ready to sit for the exams. What do I need to do next?

You can sit for the exams after you compete the following:

  1. Submit a complete application for board review
  2. Board approval of your application
  3. Once the board approves your application your name will be submitted to the exam vendors and the vendors will provide information on how to schedule the exams.

I am ready to sit for the exams. What do I need to do next?

You can sit for the exams after you compete the following:

  • Submit a complete application for board review
  • Board approval of your application
  • Once the board approves your application your name will be submitted to the exam vendors and the vendors will provide information on how to schedule the exams.

What is Florida’s passing score on the national exam?

70% on the examination prior to October 2000. For October 2000 and exams thereafter, the ASPPB recommends the cut-off score. The current ASPPB recommended cut-off score is a scaled score of 500.

May I apply for examination prior to completion of my post-doctoral supervised experience?

Yes. This method of application is called the bifurcation method. It allows an individual who complies with Florida’s education requirements to apply for examination prior to completing the experience requirement.

From the time that I sit for my exam, how long will it be before I get my results?

In regard to the Florida laws and rules exam, you will receive your preliminary grade report from Prometric at the end of the exam.  You may also view your score 15 to 30 days after the examination from our online system. In terms of the national (EPPP) exam, you would need to contact Professional Examination Services (PES).

From the time that I sit for my exam, how long does it take for the Board to receive my results?

For both exams, it usually takes an average of three (3) weeks before the Board will receive an official score report from the testing vendor, but it may take longer.

Prometric says that I need an Eligibility ID to schedule my exam. What is this? Is it my Applicant ID number?

Your Eligibility ID number is your social security number without any dashes or spaces.